Winners will get an opportunity to participate in the 32nd International Philosophy Olympiad 2024, 16-19 May 2024, Helsinki,Finland. The last date of registration is 6th March 2024 (Wednesday). last day of registration 7th March2024

Bangladesh Philosophy Olympiad 2024

Bangladesh Philosophy Olympiad takes place every year in the month of January and February. Winners from this Olympiad is taking part International Philosophy Olympiad.

International Philosophy Olympiad organized by the direct patronization of UNESCO and International Federation of Philosophical Societies (FISP). FISP is the highest non-governmental world organization for philosophy. It was established in 1948. Its main objectives are to contribute directly to the development of professional relations among the philosophers of all countries freely and with mutual respect; dedicated to philosophy, to collect documentation useful for the development of philosophical studies.

History of Philosophy Olympiad

I. IPO: May 1993 – Smolyan, Bulgaria.

II. IPO: May 1994 – Petric, Bulgaria.

III. IPO: May 1995 – Stara Zagora, Bulgaria.

During the III. IPO, the “International Organizing Committee for IPO” was created with the adoption of a Letter of Intent. Its secretariat is located at Sofia University (prof. Ivan Kolev).

At a meeting of experts of philosophy education held at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris in February 1995 in connection with UNESCO’s project on “Philosophy and Democracy in the World,” it was decided to promote the organization of national and international competitions along the lines of the philosophy olympiads with the aim of “encouraging the practice of philosophical, critical thinking and stimulating, through competition, the interest of young people in philosophy”. From 1996 to 2015 following countries have hosted the International Philosophy Olimpiad- Turkey, Poland, Romania, Hungary, Germany, USA, Japan, Argentina, South Korea, Poland, Italy, Romania, Finland, Greece, Austria, Norway, Estonia.

The founder of Bangladesh Philosophy Olympiad Mohammad Salim Miah with one of the founders of International Philosophy Olympiad professor ”Ivan Kolev’’ of University of Sofia, Bulgaria at Sofia Bulgaria. The Photo was taken in the year 2015.

Bangladesh has successfully participated for the first time in the 23rd International Philosophy Olympiad 2015 with two students and a teachers, held at Tartu University, Estonia from 14-18 May 2015. Bangladesh team was sponsored by Heritage School, Bangladesh situated at Narayanganj District of Dhaka Division.

Photo: Bangladesh participation at 23rd Philosophy Olympiad 2015 Tartu University, Estonia.

Winners of Bangladesh Philosophy Olympiad 2024 (Primary Round)

Name School Position
Maliha Afrin Islam Heritage School 1st
Ayesha Amin Aoisharyo Daffodil International School 2nd
Labib Abrar Islam Heritage School 3rd
Sanjidul Abir Sanjidul Abir 4th
Wasi Islam Aronno ABC International School 5th
Nosrath Jahan Heritage School 6th
Golam Morshed ABC International School 7th
Panhi Leelabati Shahajpath High School 8th
Shah Md Wasif Islam Narayanganj Ideal School 9th
Rifa Tasfia Raita Chowdhury Mangrove School 10th